Stephen F. Eckel, PharmD, MHA, BCPS

Recipient of the 2018 Milton W. Skolaut Leadership Award



Stephen Eckel received his Bachelor of Science in pharmacy and Doctor of Pharmacy from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He completed a pharmacy practice residency at Duke University Medical Center and then joined UNC Hospitals as a clinical pharmacist. Eckel also holds a Master of Health Care Administration from the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health.

Eckel is the Associate Dean for Global Engagement at the UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy. He is also a clinical associate professor in the Division of Practice Advancement and Clinical Education (PACE) and currently serving as division's interim chair. In addition, he is director of graduate studies and oversees the two-year Master of Science in pharmaceutical sciences with a specialization in health-system pharmacy administration. This degree is hosted at multiple sites across North Carolina. At UNC Medical Center, he is an associate director of pharmacy and director of pharmacy residency programs. He has worked with almost 250 residents over the years. Eckel is a board-certified pharmacotherapy specialist.

As an innovator and entrepreneur Eckel spearheaded the development of UNC Pharmacy Grand Rounds with ASHP and launched ChemoGLO, LLC with Bill Zamboni, PharmD, PhD. He is the previous editor of the health-system edition of *Pharmacy Times* and a passionate supporter of the role of the pharmacist and the use of technology in patient care. He conducts and publishes his research and is frequently asked to speak around the world on these issues.

Eckel has been very active in the North Carolina Association of Pharmacists, serving as President from January 2016 through June 2017. In addition, he is a member of the Board of Directors of American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, starting his term in June 2017. He has also served many years in the APhA and ASHP House of Delegates. In 2012, he was presented by APhA the Distinguished Achievement Award in Hospital and Institutional Practice and in 2013, he was awarded the Excellence in Innovation award by NCAP. In 2015, the ASHP Foundation awarded him the Pharmacy Residency Excellence Preceptor Award. He is a Fellow of ASHP, APhA, ACCP, and the National Academies of Practice in Pharmacy.