Internship Program

Duke University Hospital Pharmacy Internship Program

Program Goal

To provide employed student pharmacists with a structured program that prepares graduates for successful entry into a variety of pharmacy practice settings

Program Descriptions

Internship Program P1 - P4

  • Opportunity to work and learn in a variety of operational settings, which include Inpatient Operations, Continuity of Care, Pediatric Satellite, and Community Pharmacies
  • Quarterly intern program meetings
    • Examples of meeting activities include: topic discussions, article reviews, journal clubs, and presentations by guest speakers
  • Shadowing opportunities (IDS, Pediatrics, OR, and Clinical and Patient Care Services)

Clinical Internship Program – P4

  • Two positions available for select P4 student pharmacists
  • Flexible work/clinician training opportunities
  • Opportunities to perform advanced tasks and work closely with clinical pharmacists
  • Enhance abilities to educate patients and sharpen clinical skills
  • Must have proven track record of attendance and performance to be considered

Clinical Internship Program Outline

Clinical Internship Program Description

Two fourth year students will be selected each year to participate in the Duke University Hospital Clinical Internship Program. The Clinical Internship Program will be specifically designed to complement advanced pharmacy practice experiences. The program is structured to provide its participants with a variety of in depth clinical experiences. Clinical interns will be allowed to practice at a level commensurate to that of a soon-to-be practicing pharmacist, but under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist. This includes, but is not limited to: serving as a drug information resource, collecting medication histories and performing medication reconciliations, pharmacokinetic dosing and monitoring, counseling of patients, and recommending medication dosage adjustments

Name

Email

School

Year

Primary Work Area

Grace Trull

gratru@live.unc.edu

UNC

P1

CHC Outpatient

Chelsea Hoyle

cchoyle0104@email.campbell.edu

Campbell

P2

CHC Outpatient

Braxton Cline

blcline@email.unc.edu

UNC

P2

CHC Outpatient

Michele Muir

michele_muir@unc.edu

UNC

P3

CHC Outpatient

Zoe Tu

Zoe.tu@duke.edu

UNC

P2

Continuity of Care

Larissa Madden

larissa_madden@unc.edu

UNC

P4

Continuity of Care

Lauren Hall-Mozingo

mozingol@email.unc.edu

UNC

P4

Continuity of Care

Amy Guisinger

aguising@email.unc.edu

UNC

P4

Continuity of Care

Joanna Billings

Joanna_billings@unc.edu

UNC

P3

Inpatient Operations

Christian Caveness

christian.caveness@duke.edu

UNC

P3

Inpatient Operations

Bernadette Lee

leesile@live.unc.edu

UNC

P3

Inpatient Operations

Jessica Newman

jnnewman@email.unc.edu

UNC

P3

Inpatient Operations

Zachary Whitehead

zach_whitehead@unc.edu

UNC

P3

Inpatient Operations

Ethan Brenneman

ethan.brenneman@duke.edu

UNC

P3

Inpatient Operations

Emily Hua

emily.hua888@duke.edu

UNC

P3

Inpatient Operations

Arden Bui

arden.bui@duke.edu

UNC

P3

Inpatient Operations

Danielle (Dani) Youmans

dayouman@ad.unc.edu

UNC

P3

Inpatient Operations

Colin Smith

iscolin@gmail.com

UNC

P4

Inpatient Operations

Julian Garcia

julian_garcia@unc.edu

UNC

P1

IV Room (SPC)

Sarah Williams

sewilliams0515@email.campbell.edu

Campbell

P2

IV Room (SPC)

Audrey Kalai Wong

kalaika@live.unc.edu

UNC

P2

IV Room (SPC)

Adam Hendrix

adam.hendrix@duke.edu                              

UNC

P2

IV Room (SPC)

Gabrielle Clark

gabrielle.clark136@duke.edu                     

Campbell

P2

IV Room (SPC)

Stepanie Kim

stephanie_kim@unc.edu

UNC

P3

IV Room (SPC)

Muhammad Mian

mianm@email.unc.edu

UNC

P3

IV Room (SPC)

Megan Taylor

megan.taylor387@duke.edu

Campbell

P3

IV Room (SPC)

Rebekah(Koheun) Kim

rebekahk@email.unc.edu

UNC

P3

IV Room (SPC)

Sarah Mills

sarah.c.mills@duke.edu

UNC

P3

IV Room (SPC)

Viraj Barot

viraj.barot@duke.edu                                   

UNC

P3

IV Room (SPC)

Meghan Peterson

meghan.peterson@duke.edu

UNC

P2

Women's and Children's

Spruha Shah

spruha.shah@duke.edu

UNC

P2

Women's and Children's

Emily Chang

emily.chang@duke.edu

UNC

P3

Women's and Children's

Jenny (Yeon) Soo Jin

ysjin@email.unc.edu

UNC

P4

Clinical Intern

Emily Garcia

emily.garcia2@duke.edu

UNC

P4

Clinical Intern

Participation in the Internship Program

  • Interns must currently be enrolled in an ACPE accredited Doctorate of Pharmacy program in a College of Pharmacy.

  • Students in their P1 - P4 years of pharmacy school are eligible to be in the pharmacy internship program.

  • To become a Duke Pharmacy Intern, students must apply and work part time or full time longitudinally throughout the year in one of Duke University Hospital's pharmacy areas.

  • There is no concentrated summer internship program at this time; experiences are offered longitudinally.

Program Contact

Iliana Morataya, PharmD, BCPS

Pharmacy Internship Program Coordinator

PGY2 Health-System Pharmacy Administration Resident

Duke University Hospital

 

Text:

-A A +A