Internship Program

Duke University Hospital Pharmacy Internship Program

Program Goal

To provide employed student pharmacists with a structured program that prepares graduates for successful entry into a variety of pharmacy practice settings

Program Descriptions

P1 and P2 Internship Program

  • Opportunity to work and learn in a variety of operational settings, which include Inpatient Operations and Continuity of Care
  • Bi-annual intern program meetings
    • Examples of meeting activities include: topic discussions, article reviews, journal clubs, and presentations by guest speakers

P3 and P4 Internship Program

  • Opportunity to work and learn in a variety of operational settings, which include Inpatient Operations and Continuity of Care
  • Shadowing opportunities (IDS, Pediatrics, OR, and Clinical and Patient Care Services)
  • Quarterly intern program meetings
    • Examples of meeting activities include: topic discussions, article reviews, journal clubs, and presentations by guest speakers

Clinical Internship Program – P4

  • Multiple positions available for select P4 student pharmacists
  • Flexible work/clinician training opportunities
  • Monthly intern program meetings
    • Examples of meeting activities include: topic discussions, article reviews, journal clubs, and presentations by guest speakers
  • Must have proven track record of attendance and performance to be considered

 

Clinical Internship Program Outline

Clinical Internship Program Description

Multiple fourth year students will be selected each year to participate in the Duke University Hospital Clinical Internship Program. The Clinical Internship Program will be specifically designed to complement advanced pharmacy practice experiences. The program is structured to provide its participants with a variety of in depth clinical experiences. Clinical interns will be allowed to practice at a level commensurate to that of a soon-to-be practicing pharmacist, but under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist. This includes, but is not limited to: final dose checking, medication verification, order entry, serving as a drug information resource, collecting medication histories and/or performing medication reconciliations, pharmacokinetic dosing and monitoring, and counseling of patients.

Name Email School Year Work Area
Chelsea Hoyle cchoyle@ncsu.edu Campbell PY1 CHC Outpatient
Michele Muir michele_muir@unc.edu UNC PY2 CHC Outpatient
Mitchell Haynes haynesmi@email.unc.edu UNC PY2 Continuity of Care
Joanna Billings Joanna_billings@unc.edu UNC PY2 Inpatient Operations
Christian Caveness christian.caveness@duke.edu UNC PY2 Inpatient Operations
Bernadette Lee sile.lee@duke.edu UNC PY2 Inpatient Operations
Jessica Newman jessica.n.newman@duke.edu UNC PY2 Inpatient Operations
Zachary Whitehead zachary.whitehead@duke.edu UNC PY2 Inpatient Operations
Ethan Brenneman ethan.brenneman@duke.edu UNC PY2 Inpatient Operations
Emily Hua emily.hua888@duke.edu UNC PY2 Inpatient Operations
Arden Bui arden.bui@duke.edu UNC PY2 Inpatient Operations
Megan Taylor mntaylor110@email.campbell.edu Campbell PY2 IV Room (SPC)
Rebekah(Koheun) Kim rebekahk@email.unc.edu UNC PY2 IV Room (SPC)
Stepanie Kim stephanie_kim@unc.edu UNC PY2 IV Room (SPC)
Casey Wells casey_wells@unc.edu UNC PY2 IV Room (SPC)
Muhammad Mian mianm@email.unc.edu UNC PY2 IV Room (SPC)
Emily Chang emily.chang@duke.edu UNC PY2 Women's and Children's
Vera Pervitsky vera.pervitsky@duke.edu UNC PY2 Women's and Children's
Larissa Madden larissa_madden@unc.edu UNC PY3 Continuity of Care
Lauren Hall-Mozingo lauren.hallmozingo@duke.edu UNC PY3 Continuity of Care
Amy Guisinger Amy.Guisinger@duke.edu UNC PY3 Continuity of Care
Michelle Ton mton2@email.unc.edu UNC PY3 Continuity of Care
Colin Smith cismith@unc.edu UNC PY3 Inpatient Operations
Katherine Adams katherine.adams@duke.edu Campbell PY3 Inpatient Operations
Emily Garcia emily.garcia2@duke.edu UNC PY3 Inpatient Operations
Stephan Ryan srryan@email.unc.edu UNC PY3 IV Room (SPC)
Jenny (Yeon) Soo Jin ysjin94@gmail.com UNC PY3 IV Room (SPC)
Jennifer Ruiz-Veve jaruizveve0522@email.campbell.edu Campbell PY3 IV Room (SPC)
Mason Holt mtholt0331@email.campbell.edu Campbell PY4 CHC Outpatient
Amy Ogilvie alogilvi@email.unc.edu UNC PY4 CHC Outpatient
Ashlyn Norris ashlyn.norris@duke.edu UNC PY4 Continuity of Care
John Conyers IV john.conyers@duke.edu Campbell PY4 Adult Clinical
Trent Martin trent.martin@duke.edu UNC PY4 Adult Clinical
Melissa Lore melissa.lore@duke.edu UNC PY4 Inpatient Operations
Melanie Rodriguez-Ayarza melanie.ayarza@duke.edu UNC PY4 Women's and Children's

Participation in the Internship Program

  • Interns must currently be enrolled in a Doctorate of Pharmacy program in a College of Pharmacy that is ACPE accredited.

  • Students in their P1 - P4 years of pharmacy school are eligible to be in the pharmacy internship program.

  • To become a Duke Pharmacy Intern, students must apply and work part time or full time longitudinally throughout the year in one of Duke University Hospital's pharmacy areas.

  • There is no concentrated summer internship program at this time; experiences are offered longitudinally.

Program Contact

Jordan DeAngelis, PharmD

Pharmacy Internship Program Coordinator

PGY2 Health-System Pharmacy Administration Resident

Duke University Hospital

 

Text:

-A A +A