Internship Program

Duke University Hospital Pharmacy Internship Program

Program Goal

To provide employed student pharmacists with a structured program that prepares graduates for successful entry into a variety of pharmacy practice settings

Program Descriptions

P1 and P2 Internship Program

  • Opportunity to work and learn in a variety of operational settings, which include Inpatient Operations and Continuity of Care
  • Bi-annual intern program meetings
    • Examples of meeting activities include: topic discussions, article reviews, journal clubs, and presentations by guest speakers

P3 and P4 Internship Program

  • Opportunity to work and learn in a variety of operational settings, which include Inpatient Operations and Continuity of Care
  • Shadowing opportunities (IDS, Pediatrics, OR, and Clinical and Patient Care Services)
  • Quarterly intern program meetings
    • Examples of meeting activities include: topic discussions, article reviews, journal clubs, and presentations by guest speakers

Clinical Internship Program – P4

  • Multiple positions available for select P4 student pharmacists
  • Flexible work/clinician training opportunities
  • Monthly intern program meetings
    • Examples of meeting activities include: topic discussions, article reviews, journal clubs, and presentations by guest speakers
  • Must have proven track record of attendance and performance to be considered

 

Clinical Internship Program Outline

Clinical Internship Program Description

Multiple fourth year students will be selected each year to participate in the Duke University Hospital Clinical Internship Program. The Clinical Internship Program will be specifically designed to complement advanced pharmacy practice experiences. The program is structured to provide its participants with a variety of in depth clinical experiences. Clinical interns will be allowed to practice at a level commensurate to that of a soon-to-be practicing pharmacist, but under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist. This includes, but is not limited to: final dose checking, medication verification, order entry, serving as a drug information resource, collecting medication histories and/or performing medication reconciliations, pharmacokinetic dosing and monitoring, and counseling of patients.

Name Email School Year Primary Work Area

Chelsea Hoyle

cchoyle0104@email.campbell.edu

Campbell

PY2

CHC Outpatient

Michele Muir

michele_muir@unc.edu

UNC

PY3

CHC Outpatient

Grace Trull

gratru@live.unc.edu

UNC

PY1

CHC Outpatient

Braxton Cline

blcline@email.unc.edu

UNC

PY2

CHC Outpatient

Larissa Madden

larissa_madden@unc.edu

UNC

PY4

Continuity of Care

Lauren Hall-Mozingo

lauren.hallmozingo@duke.edu

UNC

PY4

Continuity of Care

Amy Guisinger

Amy.Guisinger@duke.edu

UNC

PY4

Continuity of Care

Zoe Tu

Zoe.tu@duke.edu)

UNC

PY2

Continuity of Care

Joanna Billings

Joanna_billings@unc.edu

UNC

PY3

Inpatient Operations

Christian Caveness

christian.caveness@duke.edu

UNC

PY3

Inpatient Operations

Bernadette Lee

sile.lee@duke.edu

UNC

PY3

Inpatient Operations

Jessica Newman

jessica.n.newman@duke.edu

UNC

PY3

Inpatient Operations

Zachary Whitehead

zachary.whitehead@duke.edu

UNC

PY3

Inpatient Operations

Ethan Brenneman

ethan.brenneman@duke.edu

UNC

PY3

Inpatient Operations

Emily Hua

emily.hua888@duke.edu

UNC

PY3

Inpatient Operations

Arden Bui

arden.bui@duke.edu

UNC

PY3

Inpatient Operations

Colin Smith

colin.smith969@duke.edu

UNC

PY4

Inpatient Operations

Danielle Youmans

dayouman@ad.unc.edu

UNC

PY3

Inpatient Operations

Megan Taylor

megan.taylor387@duke.edu

Campbell

PY3

IV Room (SPC)

Rebekah(Koheun) Kim

rebekahk@email.unc.edu

UNC

PY3

IV Room (SPC)

Stepanie Kim

stephanie_kim@unc.edu

UNC

PY3

IV Room (SPC)

Muhammad Mian

mianm@email.unc.edu

UNC

PY3

IV Room (SPC)

Kalai Wong

Kalai.wong@duke.edu                                  

UNC

PY2

IV Room (SPC)

Sarah Williams

Sarah.e.Williams@duke.edu                       

Campbell

PY2

IV Room (SPC)

Sarah Mills

sarah.c.mills@duke.edu

UNC

PY3

IV Room (SPC)

Gabrielle Clark

gabrielle.clark136@duke.edu                     

Campbell

PY2

IV Room (SPC)

Adam Hendrix

adam.hendrix@duke.edu                              

UNC

PY2

IV Room (SPC)

Viraj Barot

viraj.barot@duke.edu                                   

UNC

PY3

IV Room (SPC)

Emily Chang

emily.chang@duke.edu

UNC

PY3

Women's and Children's

Meghan Peterson

meghan.peterson@duke.edu

UNC

PY2

Women's and Children's

Spruha Shah

spruha.shah@duke.edu

UNC

PY2

Women's and Children's

Jenny (Yeon) Soo Jin

ysjin94@gmail.com

UNC

PY4

Clinical Intern

Emily Garcia

emily.garcia2@duke.edu

UNC

PY4

Clinical Intern

Participation in the Internship Program

  • Interns must currently be enrolled in a Doctorate of Pharmacy program in a College of Pharmacy that is ACPE accredited.

  • Students in their P1 - P4 years of pharmacy school are eligible to be in the pharmacy internship program.

  • To become a Duke Pharmacy Intern, students must apply and work part time or full time longitudinally throughout the year in one of Duke University Hospital's pharmacy areas.

  • There is no concentrated summer internship program at this time; experiences are offered longitudinally.

Program Contact

Iliana Morataya, PharmD

Pharmacy Internship Program Coordinator

PGY2 Health-System Pharmacy Administration Resident

Duke University Hospital

 

Text:

-A A +A