Overview of services

ann mcgee
Ann Scates - McGee, Pharm.D., Director, Center for Medication Policy

The Center for Medication Policy (CMP) is a team within the Department of Pharmacy that collects, organizes, analyzes, and disseminates information on medication use to improve drug utilization. The CMP integrates its activities with the clinical, safety, informatics, administrative, and drug distribution systems of the Department. The missions of the CMP is to promote safe, efficacious, fiscally responsible, and rationale medication use by providing high quality drug information services.

Functions of the CMP include:

  • Answer patient specific and general inquiries regarding all aspects of medication use.
  • Provide accurate, timely, unbiased evidence based drug information in support of rational medication therapy and policy.
  • Provide support to the Pharmacy and Medication Management Committee (PMMC) and the Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee and its subcommittees (Formulary & Informatics Subcommittee, Medication Safety Subcommittee and Formulary Evaluation Teams).
  • Participate in formulary management activities.
  • Support the dissemination of drug information via the Center for Medication Policy and Pharmacy Department webpages as well as electronic memos/newsletters.
  • Participate and support the conduct of medication use evaluations.
  • Monitor and assist with the implementation of drug shortage action plans.
  • Track and develop medication specific Risk Evaluation and Mitigation Strategies (REMS) programs.
  • Review and track departmental drug information resources subscriptions.
  • Provide a learning environment in which pharmacy students and residents can acquire or enhance skills necessary to respond to and research medication related issues.


The CMP is staffed Monday through Friday from 8AM to 4:30PM at 919-684-5125.  After hours consultations are provided by page (919-970-8110).  Non-emergency requests may be left on voicemail or send an email to a staff member noted below or via FormWeb

Our Staff

  • Lisa Bendz, Pharm.D., BCPS
  • Sandra Lowry, PharmD
  • Ann Scates McGee, Pharm.D.
  • Cathy Vaughan, Pharm.D.
  • Doug Raiff, Pharm.D., BCPS

Center for Medication Policy